PDA

View Full Version : Miter cuts with a router?

Mike Trent
06-23-2016, 11:45 PM
First: I'm new to woodworking, so please excuse a stupid question.

I've had a heck of a time trying to get 45* cuts to make frames. Have learned a lot here about tuning tables saws, installing PALS, using a shooting board, etc. Was looking at router bits online today, and noticed a 22.5* Rockler 1.125" tall chamfer bit that might cut the angles I need to make a flag display case for Dad's burial flag. He left behind a shop full of wood stock, machines and tools, but isn't around to answer my very basic questions.

So, is it practical to use a router table w/fence plus an angle-cutting bit (22.5* or 45* or whatever), to make frame joints? If so, seems easier than fiddling with TS, miter saws, shooting boards, etc.

Thanks for any advice. Kinda wish SMC had a separate forum called "Idiot Newbie Questions" -- after reading the other posts in this forum, I am in awe of the talent and knowledge here!

Mike

Jerry Miner
06-24-2016, 2:03 AM
I don't think you'll find a 22.5 deg. chamfer bit very useful for this.

1. It cuts 22.5 deg. from vertical, not from horizontal, so you'd have to run the stock vertically on the router table.

2. A cutter height of 1.125" would only cut a complete 22.5 deg. miter on thin stock (+/- 7/16") --- (This bit is really designed for 22.5 deg. bevel cuts, like you would need for an octagonal box)

A practical approach to this project can be found here:

Flag Case (http://www.woodworkersjournal.com/making-memorial-flag-case/)

HTH

Frederick Skelly
06-24-2016, 5:53 AM
Welcome to the Creek Mike! Most folks will be patient and helpful to "newbies", so don't hesitate to ask. It's always a good idea to use our search function first, just in case your question is a common one. But no harm if you don't. We'll try to help.

I cant advise on using a router to do this, so I'll defer to someone who can.

Sorry to hear about your Dad.

Fred

Wayne Lomman