PDA

View Full Version : Shop Project Complete (Pics)

Bob Noles
09-22-2005, 8:04 PM
I finally got around to finishing my flip top cabinet and thought I would share a few pictures. This is not "fine woodworking" by any means, but a great "utility" addition to the shop with limited space.

I studied several available plans and finally came up with my own version (dosen't everyone do this?) :rolleyes: It is constructed totally from borg materials. Sides and bottom are laminated double layer birch ply. Top is laminated triple layer birch ply. All 3/4 inch stock of course. Trimmed out in simple SYP and then all stained in golden oak Minwax. I wanted to experiment with a finish that I had not yet used so I went with Watco Teak oil, flooded twice and wiped down between applications. Then 2 coats of paste wax buffed out with my new electric buffer. Man that thing will save your arms even if I did only pay $20 for it :D

Please remember this was not meant to be fine woodworking nor pretty, but rather functional and heavey duty. I do believe the goal was achieved and I plan on starting a 2nd one for 2 other tools taking up more floor space than needed and can be combined into one footprint.

Oh.... btw.... why 2 drill presses? Don't ask.... it was Christmas :D

John Bailey
09-22-2005, 8:21 PM
First of all, I think it is pretty. Functional always is. It also looks solid. A job well done.

John

Joe Unni
09-22-2005, 8:23 PM
Too cool Bob!

-joe

Jim Becker
09-22-2005, 8:24 PM
I don't see any problems with that at all, Bob! And the birch looks great with your finish choice. (And it's easily renewable should you get a ding or three over time if you care about such things) Nice!

John A. Williams
09-22-2005, 8:39 PM
Nice Job!!! They look good and very functional. I need to build a couple of these also. Could you post some more pictures or describe the pivot and locking hardware/mechanisms.

John

Keith Burns
09-22-2005, 8:42 PM
Very nice job !

Bob Noles
09-22-2005, 9:05 PM