PDA

View Full Version : How is the grizzly g0766 holding up?

Michael Rodgers
06-12-2016, 8:31 PM
I have been looking for a new lathe and this one seems to be gaining in popularity. All the reviews and comments I see are from before the banjo had been updated and would like to hear what some opinions are with the current crop of them please. I would love to get a pm3520a but I have a hard time spending $4000 on it, nothing against it just hard to spend that for one. Also looked at the revo 1836 but considering its about $700 more even now at $2250 on sale over the grizzly for 4" less swing is also hard to justify. I really like what the higher end lathes offer I just have a hard time spending that when it may sit in the corner for a month and then get used for a week. If I made money with it I would spend it, but turning is my relaxing time in woodworking. I make my living building cabinets, which was more fun as a hobby than a career. I have a JWL 1236 from when they were the blue color, and would like to upgrade to something more suited to green wood turning. What I want is to able to chuck up a piece of wood without having the lathe want to walk from having to spin at 600 rpm when I rough it out, doesnt have to be out of round much for that to happen. So whats the opinion, is the grizzly 0766 a solid machine? Thank you in advance.

Roger Chandler
06-12-2016, 9:11 PM
My G0766 is doing great. I like its power, performance and features. The extras like the cage and comparator arms are part of what adds to the cost of more expensive lathes, but you don't necessarily get a better lathe. While the original banjo was a bit small, Grizzly remedied that with a new one, and there is probably not a better value on the market for a large lathe.