PDA

View Full Version : Avoiding having 23 gauge pins go out the side?

Wade Lippman
06-11-2016, 4:55 PM
I am making a frame for my son's college diploma out of curupay. I have never used it before, but the color is great with the matting.
I have cut the pieces, and have to route them and glue them together.
I have never trusted just glue for frames and intended on reinforcing the corners with a couple pins. I drilled pilot holes with a drill just under the size of the pin in a piece of scrap; when I hammered the pin it, it split. So that is no good.
I tried some #23 pins from a Grex nailer; but about half shoot out the side.
So my question... are the pins more likely to go or the side if I have the nailer parallel to the grain, or perpendicular; or doesn't it much matter?

This might be my opportunity to learn to use a spline...

Ken Fitzgerald
06-11-2016, 5:06 PM
I'd use a spline OR drill a countersunk hole, drive in a screw and plug the hole with a plug cut from the same wood aligning the grain of the plug to blend in.

Raymond Fries
06-11-2016, 5:13 PM
+1 for splines. Their not that hard to do.

Good Luck with your project.

Cody Colston
06-11-2016, 5:18 PM
I feel your pain. I haven't used my pin nailer yet (Christmas gift) but I don't think I've ever used my brad nailer that I didn't blow a nail out the side. FWIW, I think holding the nailer perpendicular to the piece works best. Also, don't use a nail/brad/pin any longer than is necessary.

As an alternative to pin nails, consider putting contrasting keys in the corners of the frame. That's what I normally do with small boxes, etc.

Bill White
06-11-2016, 5:24 PM
Look at the chisel tip on the pins. The chisel edge should not be aligned WITH the grain. That's what causes the blow out.
Bill

Martin Wasner
06-11-2016, 6:13 PM
Look at the chisel tip on the pins. The chisel edge should not be aligned WITH the grain. That's what causes the blow out.
Bill

False.