PDA

View Full Version : Last One I think

Steve Russell tucker
06-04-2016, 5:27 PM
Hello once more , This is my first rimmed bowl I had tons of fun with it , I hope to get better at it Have a great day and thanks for looking 338607338608 Its cherry ...Its always cherry :) I mixed some beeswax with BLO and then a couple coats of shellac on top it has a really cool feel to it . Thanks again for putting up with my inferior skills.

daryl moses
06-04-2016, 5:47 PM
Looks good, I like the shape of it. Perhaps a little thinner rim next time?
You did better on the sanding, finishing part on this one.:)

David Delo
06-04-2016, 6:18 PM
I agree with Daryl's comments. Looks like your having fun and making progress.

Allan Ferguson
06-04-2016, 8:43 PM
You are getting there. Have fun.

Tim Boger
06-04-2016, 9:28 PM
Beautiful bowl, well done.

Do I understand correctly that you applied Shellac over the Beeswax and BLO mix?

Don't sound right to me, I'm no finishing expert and hope to get some more opinions here.

Hello once more , This is my first rimmed bowl I had tons of fun with it , I hope to get better at it Have a great day and thanks for looking 338607338608 Its cherry ...Its always cherry :) I mixed some beeswax with BLO and then a couple coats of shellac on top it has a really cool feel to it . Thanks again for putting up with my inferior skills.

John K Jordan
06-04-2016, 10:40 PM
I like the little raised rim on top - I like to do that on some of my platters and bowls too.

This is not meant as criticism, but these photos look a little out of focus. Are you using an auto focus camera? Maybe the issue is not enough light which can make focusing more difficult.