PDA

View Full Version : If I walked into your shop, what would you charge?

Brian Lamb
06-03-2016, 4:46 PM
OK, I can figure out pricing on repetitive marking times, not a problem, but I have trouble figuring out what to charge for a one off "artistic" piece. Case in point, friend of a relative is an avid pilot, so we did a photo of his plane as a gift. I know how much time I have in this sort of thing, but I also know I'm a complete newbie at this photo manipulation stuff.... other folks might be able to knock out the backgrounds and adjust 5 times faster than I do. So, I'll post the original photo and the engraved item, this was on a piece of Mahogany about 7" x 20" if I remember correctly. Not the best photos...

Gary Hair
06-03-2016, 5:14 PM
First, you did a nice job on the pic! I'm sure it's the mahogany, but I would prefer it a bit lighter - still very nice though. I have a $35 minimum charge, for that you'll get about 5 minutes of design/editing time and 5 minutes of laser. Any more of either and I charge $120/hour minimum. The people who would think that is too much are not who I want for customers, there are plenty of shops around that will charge less for a minimum and I always encourage those with small jobs to check them out. Just a wild guess, but I'd probably need to get at least $100 - $150 for that piece.

Brian Lamb
06-03-2016, 5:38 PM
Hi Gary,

Thank you for the compliment, that photo was a bit of a challenge with other planes, legs, tie down ropes and wheel chocks. I agree the Mahogany isn't probably the best choice, but I will say it's considerably lighter in real life than the photo, so not too bad. The customer now wants his other plane and their dog, hence my questions. If he owns planes, he's obviously not the typical cheapskate that I'm dealing with, so I know he appreciates the time and effort. My guesstimate on prices isn't too far off from yours, so I know I'm at least not cutting myself too short.

Clark Pace
06-03-2016, 5:44 PM