PDA

View Full Version : Dilemma for a new turner: cheap used Jet 1220 v. new (on sale) Jet 1221VS lathe

David Stoner
06-02-2016, 3:51 PM
I'm new to turning and am buying my first lathe, which I expect will have to last a good while. If I were to buy new, it would probably be the Jet 1221VS, which is currently on sale ($700) at Woodcraft. But someone (from whom I've bought tools before) just offered to sell me his lightly used Jet 1220 (non-VS) lathe and extension bed (but no stand) for $400. I would like a stand, but stands for the 1220 are unavailable; stands for the 1221VS are apparently nice but very expensive. I have the luxury of being able to afford the new lathe, but I don't want to waste money and the used lathe seems to be by far the better deal. Still, I want to be sure I make the better long-term investment. Any advice?

Bruce Wilson
06-02-2016, 4:09 PM
Disclaimer, I'm pretty new to this too....but...
My opinion...if the lathe is going to have to last you a good while, go ahead and start busting the bank early and get the VS. I looked at the 1221, ended up getting the Delta. I use the VS all the time. Slower for roughing out, faster for finishing and sanding. You're gonna get sucked into the vortex and want more accessories, more gouges, more chucks, more centers, more wood, more chuck jaws, more wood.....more more more. Just go ahead and jump in and get the VS.

Brice Rogers
06-02-2016, 4:22 PM
Having a variable speed is really nice. My first lathe required a pulley change to change speeds. The slowest speed was 950 rpm. Too fast and potentially dangerous for an out-of-balance bowl. But if all you are going to do is smaller spindles, then maybe you could live with belt changing. If I were you I'd go for the variable speed.

David Bassett
06-02-2016, 4:38 PM
I can't say what's best for you. But... two points:

(1) moving belts to change speeds, at least on small'ish lathes, isn't hard.