PDA

View Full Version : Sawstop save

earl wojciechowski
05-30-2016, 12:53 PM
I am building a medicine cabinet (following article in recent popular woodworking) and was ripping maple boards to width.
I have been doing woodworking for over 25+ years and should know better. I was using a magnetic featherboard to hold the board against the fence.
Now the really dumb part, reached behind the blade while ripping to push the board against the fence behind the blade.
Next thing I knew, felt a small nick on my hand and the saw stopped. Knew immediately what happened and was really annoyed at myself.
I looked at my thumb, and sure enough there was a small nick, but no blood. Scared the bejezzers out of me.
Shut down for lunch and to collect my wits about myself.
I realize that if it was not for the sawstop feature, I probably would have lost the tip of my thumb :-(

Will eat some lunch, undue the damage and buy a new blade and Sawstop cartridge to continue my project. Won't be reaching behind the blade anymore.

Earl Wojo2

Sid Matheny
05-30-2016, 1:05 PM
Good to hear you were not hurt. Things happen fast!

Ben Rivel
05-30-2016, 1:30 PM
Nice. Glad you didnt have to go through a worse experience with that one. Be sure to send the brake to SawStop as I understand they will give you a free one if it triggered due to the blade contacting skin.

mreza Salav
05-30-2016, 3:20 PM
Second SS save in this week here. Good to hear you are Ok. I too would be mad at myself for doing that.
But why do you need to push the back of the blade against fence? were you using riving knife?

Mike Henderson
05-30-2016, 3:20 PM
Glad you're okay. That "insurance" you bought with the SawStop paid off.

Mike

glenn bradley
05-30-2016, 3:47 PM
So the price difference just disappeared, eh? glad you weren't hurt.

Joe Jensen
05-30-2016, 5:57 PM