PDA

View Full Version : Delta RC-33 planer - how difficult to install Byrd Cutterhead ?

John Myers
05-28-2016, 3:37 PM
I have a Delta RC-33 13" planer that I purchased a while back on Craigslist. Nice planer. I'm thinking about installing a Byrd Shelix Cutterhead on it. My question: How difficult is this task to do? Mine you, I am NOT a mechanic! Anyone out there undertake this project who can give me advise?

David Kumm
05-29-2016, 12:48 AM
I've done it on a DC 33 and not a big deal. You have to put on bearings or have Byrd do it but a light bulb is about all you need to heat the bearing to aid in the install. The RC 33 is one of the better small planers out there and a great candidate for a Byrd. Dave

Gerry Grzadzinski
05-29-2016, 7:44 AM
You can drive a bearing on with a deep wall socket. Just make sure the socket only touches the inner race, and you can pound it on without damaging it.

jack duren
05-29-2016, 10:52 AM
I have a Delta RC-33 13" planer that I purchased a while back on Craigslist. Nice planer. I'm thinking about installing a Byrd Shelix Cutterhead on it. My question: How difficult is this task to do? Mine you, I am NOT a mechanic! Anyone out there undertake this project who can give me advise?

Not to stir you away from the planer head but why do you feel you need the planer head? Have the same planer for over 10 years and it cuts fine...Jack

Cary Falk
05-29-2016, 11:46 AM
Not to stir you away from the planer head but why do you feel you need the planer head? Have the same planer for over 10 years and it cuts fine...Jack

1. quieter
2. virtually no tear out on figured wood
3. easier blade changes
4. carbide last longer then steel

Dave Cav
05-29-2016, 3:32 PM