PDA

View Full Version : Question about adjusting files for laser width

Chris Neal
05-23-2016, 1:39 PM
Greeting everyone. I'm new to laser machines and have been reading a lot in this forum over the past week, but I didn't find the answer to one particular question, and I was hoping to get some input:

<edited to add: Intended for cutting purposes>

Offsetting outside and inside contours to adjust for laser width can be time consuming. Does any of the software that comes with Chinese lasers such as Auto Laser or Laser Works provide this feature automatically? I'd like to able to export DXFs from existing CAD files and have them be auto adjusted in the laser app to make holes and outlines the correct size. Right now I'm using LaserDRW with my k40, and it doesn't seem to have this function.

thanks,
Chris

Bert Kemp
05-23-2016, 2:14 PM
if your talking about the kerf what I do is just make the size a hairline smaller then actual size and it comes out about right. Only takes a second to adjust the size. and really if your focus is correct the kerf is very small and should make a big difference. I don't think you have to be that exact with what ever your doing. As far as automatic settings I don't think your K40 will have that.

Dave Sheldrake
05-23-2016, 2:18 PM
Cutter Comp, out of luck on a K40 I'm afraid,

Chris Neal
05-23-2016, 4:36 PM
I should have mentioned: One of the reasons I'm asking now is because I'm looking to upsize to a 6040 or 5070 Chinese laser (G.Weike, Shenhui, or Rayfine maybe). They either come with Auto Laser or Laser Works depending on the brand/controller it seems. So I figured whichever software, if any, had this feature, it could help me choose a machine.