PDA

View Full Version : New to Forum and latest project pics

Mike Waddell
09-20-2005, 10:17 AM
Good Morning, 'Creekers -

I recently joined the forum and have been enjoying reading and learning from all of you. Two of the important (!) things I have learned are that everyone seems to welcome people with open arms (and open minds), and that if there are no pictures it didn't happen. With those established rules, I'll press on...

I have been woodworking as a hobby for about 4 years, starting with basic bookshelves, learning from each project and mistake, and now getting to the point that I have a certain level of assurance that the project I finish will look, more or less, like the one I started out to build, though that is not guaranteed! I have a small, detached shop into which I cram absolutely every tool that I can afford to buy (and some that I can't afford), and the time I spend in the shop is extremely relaxing and de-stressing. I especially enjoy the hours spent with my two children in the shop.

I am attaching a couple of pictures of my latest project; a small, kidney shaped table that LOML requested I build to match her desk. It is made of Mahogany (top, bottom and legs), quilted Mahogany (face), Aromatic Cedar (drawer sides and bottom), and Hard Maple (drawer slides). These pictures show the table dry-assembled, and I am currently in the process of finishing the piece with a Tried & True product.

This was my first effort at a bent lamination, and it was quite a treat. If anyone is interested, I'll post details and a few pictures of The Trials & Tribulations of Learning To Laminate, as my wife and I came to call the process. Though the process was long, it was VERY rewarding and my little lady could not be happier.

Well, here they are, but please be gentle to a newby! I look forward to continuing to learn and meet 'Creekers at every opportunity.

All the best,

Mike

Lee Schierer
09-20-2005, 10:28 AM