PDA

View Full Version : Material Suggestion

Daniel O'Neill
05-09-2016, 10:19 AM
I'm building an entry bench out of black walnut. It's going to be like a piano bench where the lid opens up and I am looking for suggestions as to what to put on the bottom of this "tray." My first thought is that it would be nice if it was all hardwood but since this is my first project I'm not sure how long this will be around :eek: before I have to rebuild it lol. My other idea was to get a piece of ply and put it in there. I'd like to make it look similar to BW if possible. Any other ideas would be great.

Thanks
Daniel

Jim Becker
05-09-2016, 10:31 AM
1/2" plywood floating in grooves (not glued) would be my first choice for this application and walnut veneer plywood (or applied by you) would take care of the "look".

Shawn Pixley
05-09-2016, 11:40 AM
Personally, I would do what Jim suggests. If not that, a bottom of T&G boards with enough room to move with the humidity would be a second choice.

Mel Fulks
05-09-2016, 11:59 AM
Another idea that would work and add more space would be to make a cloth, leather, or Naugahyde (NOT an endangered color!) liner that would hang down below the rails. That would give more space, obviate the movement issue and be quite distinctive. The amount of exposed material is totally a matter of personal taste. If you have not seen any examples look at pics of Federal period "work tables".

Daniel O'Neill
05-09-2016, 2:41 PM
Great ideas & advice! Thanks guys. I'll probably order some plywood but I like your idea too Mel I bet my wife would like it better.

Stan Calow
05-09-2016, 5:43 PM
I have a similar project in the works, and planned to use plywood with a leather lining on the inside. Never considered solid panel for something that wide.

Lou Ortiz
05-09-2016, 11:09 PM