PDA

View Full Version : New York City Travel Recommendations

BOB OLINGER
05-05-2016, 12:33 PM
My wife and I might take a 3-4 day trip to the big city just to do some sight seeing and make a Yankees game. Do any of you have recommendations for tourist packages (such as Greyline tours)? We'd like some flexibility but also some expertise as far as bus tours. Thanks in advance.

Von Bickley
05-05-2016, 4:37 PM
I have been to New York City and I have made myself a promise, I will NEVER go back. There are so many great places to visit in the US.

If they ever want to give the US an enema, they will go to NYC.......

Jay Nossen
05-05-2016, 4:51 PM
Never did a bus tour so can't help there, but as a woodworker, I highly suggest seeing the Frick Collection (http://www.frick.org/). The art work is pretty nice, but everytime I go, I'm distracted by the beautiful wood work inside (example http://www.frick.org/visit/virtual_tour/library). What type of things are you looking to do other than the baseball game?

Frederick Skelly
05-05-2016, 5:44 PM
Be sure to see Central Park (by day only). If you like music, there's a small portion of the park dedicted to John Lennon by his wife, called "Strawberry Fields". If you like radio control models, there's also ponds in the park where people run radio controlled sailboats.

If you like Italian food, go to Little Italy.

Frederick Skelly
05-05-2016, 5:46 PM

Oddly enough Von, I know an old sailor who swears it would be Norfolk VA, not NYC. :D

Rich Riddle
05-05-2016, 6:07 PM