PDA

View Full Version : Jet 1642 motor & inverter

Lloyd Richardson
05-02-2016, 12:26 AM
I have a Jet 1642 that I purchased in 2003. It worked fine until 3 days ago when a thunder storm came through my area. Afterwards my cable TV box was burned out. Today I went down into my shop to turn and my lathe will not work. The speed shows "0" and the motor does not turn on. I looked at the inverter and it had no display. I hit the reset button but nothing happened. I then pressed the run button on the inverter and nothing happened. I unplugged the wall plug and tried to reset again after a minute. When I plugged it back into the wall socket the "0" showed on the lathe, but the lathe would not run.

Is there a way to check if the inverter is bad or if the motor is bad or both? I'm not good with electronics, but I am passable. Has anyone else had a problem with the inverter on the 1642?

Matt Day
05-02-2016, 1:28 AM
Calling Jet tech support would be my first route. Good luck.

Lloyd Richardson
05-02-2016, 3:02 PM
Calling Jet tech support would be my first route. Good luck.
I will give that a try. Thanks for the info

Dwight Rutherford
05-02-2016, 3:16 PM
After you check with Jet help desk and they tell you the VFD is fried. They will also tell you a new inverter (VFD) will cost $640.00. Before you spring for this, there are some less expensive options. PM me.

David C. Roseman
05-02-2016, 8:24 PM
After you check with Jet help desk and they tell you the VFD is fried. They will also tell you a new inverter (VFD) will cost $640.00. Before you spring for this, there are some less expensive options. PM me.

Yup, isn't that the truth! The mark-up on the Delta Electronics VFDs as replacement parts by the equipment vendors that use them is quite large (not unexpectedly). But they can be bought directly from Delta-authorized dealers for much less.