PDA

View Full Version : Stacking slabs

Kim Haubert
04-30-2016, 11:56 AM
I'm an old beginner. Stacked my first stacks of Walnut, Maple and Sycamore. Covered the top with tin roofing sheets. Will the tin get too hot and bake the slab underneath? Also concerned whether the morning and evening sun will hurt the edges?

Thx
Kim

Tom Hogard
04-30-2016, 12:28 PM
Kim,

Leaving the edges exposed to the sun will degrade your boards. The edge will gray and weather, and that is the minor problem. The big problem is that the edge exposed to the sun will be warmer and dry more quickly while the portion of the board in the shade will dry slowly = crook. Reverse issue is edges exposed to frequent moisture (rain/snow), inside will dry faster. Consider using shade cloth to protect the stack from the sun, it will help somewhat with moisture too.

Cody Colston
05-01-2016, 9:38 AM
The tin getting hot is not a concern. Like Tom replied, shade cloth will block the sun, help keep moisture (rain) off the slab edges and still allow air flow through the stack. Using two sheets of tin on top to increase the overhang on the sides would work, too.

Kim Haubert
05-01-2016, 10:19 AM
Many thx.

I happen to have a shade tarp I used it one year for my dog pen. I have the stack covered now.

Kim

Bradley Gray
05-01-2016, 10:12 PM
I have not had good luck covering lumber stacks with a tarp. Ground moisture gets caught and mold goes crazy. I stack lumber with metal on top pretty much as you showed. I do try to have more overhang with the metal for shade.

Cody Colston
05-02-2016, 9:43 AM
I agree with Bradley. Unless that tarp allows air to flow thru it like shade cloth, you don't want to us it over the stack. The lumber will mold and mildew.

Al Launier
05-02-2016, 9:49 AM
Using your tarps, you could "stake" the edges of the tarp away from the stack. That would still provide the shade while protecting the stack from sun & rain and allowing air to flow through the stack.

Prashun Patel