PDA

View Full Version : Spalted(?) Cherry Box

Vaughn McMillan
09-19-2005, 3:07 AM
After making a boatload of cutting boards, I decided it was time to start working in more than two dimensions. Cutting boards are fun, and nice ones require close attention to detail, so why not carry that experience over and upwards into making boxes? (Remember, I'm still learning this woodworking stuff, but I'm trying to build my skills by making more and more difficult pieces.)

One of the nice things about wood is that many errors can be fixed by changing the dimensions of the final product. In other words, you trim off the mistake, and your new entertainment center is now a nightstand. But it can still be a nice nightstand.

Well, after making several prototype panels and boxes out of pine, I wanted to make a "real" box from some nice spalted* cherry wood I found a while back. Working from no plans, I just held a ruler up in the air a few different ways and decided that the box would be 9" long x 7" wide, and about 3.5" tall. The sides of the box were to be 0.75" thick. To make a long story short, several unacceptable corner joints and a few judicious saw cuts later, I ended up with the final configuration of 6.5" long x 4.5" wide x 2.75" tall, with 0.375" thick sides. On the positive side, I was able to use some of the trimmed-off scrap to make the top for the box.

Without further ado, here are the results...

As I mentioned, the box is spalted cherry. The finish was several coats of McCloskey "tung oil" finish. The "finger joints" in the top are non-functional. The top is made of the scrap pieces I sliced off the long sides of the box (with a little bit of satine wood thrown in), so the finger joint was included in the slice.

http://workingwoods.com/workingwoods/boxes/ClosedBox1-500.jpg

This shot shows the bottom side of the top (with the little rails to hold it in place). You can also see the green felt lining on the bottom of the inside.