PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about Switching my Powermatic 64 to 220v

dennis thompson
04-18-2016, 10:24 PM
I am thinking about switching my Powermatic 64 to 220v. Will I need to replace the current cords? Or the current on/off switch? Clearly I have to replace the plug.Are there Any others issues with this move to 220?
thanks

Dan Friedrichs
04-18-2016, 10:48 PM
Both cord and switch should be marked with a voltage rating that you can check.

That said, unless your circuit wiring is presently undersized, you won't see any improvement in performance.

John McClanahan
04-19-2016, 7:44 AM
As Dan said. If the power cord plug doesn't plug onto the outlet firmly, try replacing the wall outlet with a better quality outlet.

John

Hoang N Nguyen
04-19-2016, 8:44 AM
I'm no expert but from what I've learned before switching my TS from 120v to 240v was due to the amount of amps it pulls. If you're nearing the max amps your breaker can handle, you run the risk of either tripping it on start up and under heavy load. You also risk running the motor hotter or something like that. So if you currently draw say 15 amps under normal use on 120v than you'll only be drawing 7.5 amps under normal use with 240v. I forgot the exact numbers but I know your motor will draw more amps on start up than under normal running conditions, somewhere around 1.2 or 1.5 times that. If it's 1.5 than you'll end up drawing 22.5 amps on start up. If you have it hooked up to a 20amp breaker than I can see an issue, not an issue if it's on a 20amp 240v breaker.

Hopefully someone with more knowledge on this can correct me if I'm wrong. As others have mentioned, you won't see an increase in power or performance by switching.

Charles Taylor
04-19-2016, 8:53 AM