PDA

View Full Version : Hand Tools Question

Tyler Huber
04-17-2016, 10:32 PM
Hello Creekers! I don't post to much here, i read alot though. With the LV free shipping I decided I would get a new mallet (they're cabinetmakers mallet) however it's free shipping over $40. The mallet is $39.50. Always seems to happen to me. But anyway, I'm not a beginner, I have all the essentials, marking, measuring, planes, blah blah blah. I'm looking for something "small" to add. There is so much stuff in there that seems so useful. So my question is what is that one small thing you always have in your hand? I was thinking about the veritas precision square (first item under squares in marking section) but I've already got 2 starretts, a 12" combo and 6" double so it's seems redundant. Free shipping ends tomorrow so let's here what you've all got!

Tyler

Kirby Krieger
04-17-2016, 11:10 PM
Call them in the morning and tell them to bill you $40 and ship the mallet free?

John Crawford
04-17-2016, 11:22 PM
Don't forget they sell all kinds of hardware, knobs, feet, etc. Surely you need some kind of knob! Gardening stuff too, if you have a gardener in the house.

Tyler Huber
04-17-2016, 11:27 PM
I thought about that actually, but it kind of worked out to my favor because the wife isn't quite as understanding about the whole spending money for quality stuff (why do need that $100 square thingy? I just saw the same exact thing at lowes yesterday for $12) So it started with, I'm just getting the mallet, now it is, well it's $.50 short of free shipping so I have to get something else. Thankfully she doesn't think like you Kirby!

Tyler

Mike Holbrook
04-17-2016, 11:31 PM
The Pica marking pencils and pens are very handy. Then there is the Fixpencil, which is excellent but more money, or you could just get a box of LV pencils....There is the Japanese nail set which comes in handy for a variety of uses....slippery low friction tape, two sided tape...

Tyler Huber
04-17-2016, 11:34 PM