PDA

View Full Version : Broken Neck - Need Advice

Allan Speers
04-17-2016, 6:19 PM
This is an inexpensive guitar (some Vietnamese workshop) that my friend bought on Ebay. It arrived with a broken neck. He got his money back & gave it to me after he gave up trying to fix it. He messed up the finish, but I'll probably refinish the entire neck, anyway, as I don't like the feel of the original laquer. (or whatever it is.)

I'd like to "make it work" but not worried about a pristine restoration, and it's not worth paying a pro to do it right, and I'm not good at removing fingerboards, so....

I know, this type of thing isn't a lot of fun, but I could use your collective advice:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I managed to get most / all of the glue out from my friend's hack job, then re-did it with proper clamping, using tightbond III. I figure it's long grain, so it should hold pretty well, but a neck has an awful lot of tension on it.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/31826742/Broken%20Neck%20-%201%20%20%20.jpg

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/31826742/Broken%20Neck%20-%202%20%20%20.jpg

I once made a similar repair, but added two screws, inserted through the button. (Countersunk and plugged, of course.) That guitar still works fine after maybe 20 years. This guitar unfortunately has an abalone inlay right there, so I'm hesitant to do any more.

I may decide to sand-away that inlay (it's a little gaudy, anyway) then put mahogany veneer over the screw heads, but that's a lot of work. Do you think this glue job has a chance of holding just as it is? If so, how long would you wait to restring it?

THANKS.

Jim Creech
04-18-2016, 9:13 PM
I have done the exact same thing on similar guitars before without any problems except cosmetics. The only thing that will cause it to fail is excessive heat (enough to soften the glue) or sudden impact such as the one that caused the break in the first place.