PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening tools

jeff oldham
04-13-2016, 8:02 PM
I have been turning about a couple of years now and most of my tools are from amazon,, the hurricane brand and they are ok,,and i have a few carbide tools,, and i have the wolverine jig plus the robo hiipy platform jig but i noticed recently that i was getting alot of chatter when i was hollowing out a bowl or goblet,,,and i do the same sharpening process the same every time and it has always seemed to do the job good,,,i really want to learn with the conventional lathe tools and how to sharpen them,,and i watch you tube videos using the parting tool and it just seems to melt into the wood,,but the one i got(hurrican brand),,just cant seem to get a edge that sharp reguardless of what i do,,,and i do have the cbn wheels also,,any info would help im sure,,do i need better tools and what would you suggest,,thank you

Barry McFadden
04-13-2016, 9:27 PM
I'm not a sharpening expert by any means....I was using a grinding wheel and the Wolverine jig as well and was not really happy with the results. I went to a sharpening seminar at Lee Valley and after that I switched to a belt system for sharpening. I use a 1" X 30" belt and , I think, get far better results. It was explained how the grinding wheel actually puts a concave surface on the bevel of the tool where the belt system keeps it flat as it should be to ride on the wood. I'm sure there will be a lot of people that will swear by the grinding wheel and that's fine but for me I much prefer the belt for sharpening.

Bob Bouis
04-13-2016, 9:55 PM