PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly Bandsaw questions

aaron olson
04-11-2016, 5:17 PM
Hello,

I am a pretty new woodworker and have always wanted to bandsaw for various things. I see that grizzly has there 555p on sale for $445.
I am in no hurry for this currently but would like to get one at some point. Initially i had been keeping my eye on the 555lanv only because of some reviews I had read. Is the $80 difference between the 555p and 555lanv worth it? As I mentioned, I am in no hurry for this and is there a time of year lets say like black friday that this might be a better deal if i were to wait? What are peoples opinions about these saws for some general wood working and a first band saw?

Thanks for the help.

Anthony Whitesell
04-11-2016, 6:23 PM
The two differences as they point out are:

G0555p: aluminum wheels and standard fence
G0555LANZ: cast iron wheels and fancier fence

Here is my take. I would not pay extra for the T-square fence. Unlike table saws and circular blades, bandsaw blades have the tendancy to cut with a lead (ie., make a straight cut that is not inline with the front-back edges of the blade). The T-square fence doesn't seem completely appropriate for a bandsaw. On the other hand there is a big difference between the cast iron and aluminum wheels. The cast iron can take more pressure from tensioning and have more mass to assist with cutting. Once spinning, the additional mass and inertia helps reduce some of the load on the motor during the start of the cut and when hitting knots, hard spots, etc.

Would I pay extra for the fence; no. Would I pay extra to upgrade the wheels; yes. How much I don't know. How much are they worth to you? $80? To put another perspective on it, the next 14" with the cast iron wheels is the G0555X at $795 (+$240 also including a larger motor and enclosed stand)

Allan Speers
04-11-2016, 6:45 PM
I agree with Anthony on all points. (and nicely explained. )