PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone have a Universal Laser?

Ed Lang
09-16-2005, 1:52 PM
If you have or had one please post or PM your opinion.

Thanks

Lee DeRaud
09-16-2005, 2:48 PM
Versalaser here (25W, 12"x16"), had it about six months, no complaints. Note: I am not a professional engraver: I'm using it mainly as a computerized scrollsaw.

Great dealer service, but be advised that ULS has kind of a two-tier support system: full-up distributors (very good) and resellers (maybe not so good). So your level of support can vary based on who you buy your machine from.

Pete Thomas
09-16-2005, 9:53 PM
I bought a used Univeral 60W X-660 laser on E-bay about a month ago. It was only 3 years old and after a little cleanup looks like new. I saved $10-12K over buying new. I called Universal tech support and got the latest drivers and pdf manuals as well as the local sales rep. So far the system is running great, really looks like not much can go wrong. The tech support have been very helpful even though I didn't have that many questions.

The only thing I wonder is how much power am I really getting out. I'm wondering is there a simple way to get a ball park check. I compared cutting a sheet of paper with a freind who has a Explorer II 35 W system. I'm a faily techinical person and plan on adding air assit as the system did not have that option.

-pete

Robert Stremcha
09-17-2005, 12:50 AM
Your rep, or possibly even Universal, should be able to rent/loan you a laser power meter.:cool:

Peter Vasic
09-17-2005, 7:58 AM
Universal....a good machine...however so are Laser pro / pinnacle / Epilog / Gravograph / Xenetech / etc etc etc.....

None of them are worth thousands more for the equivalent model than the other..so if the the 30 w Epilog is ( fictional figure) $ 30,000 and the Pinnacle is $20,000 ...dont fall for the old you get what you pay for routine....it doesnt work in this instance....one is ripping you off big time....

But....