PDA

View Full Version : Best books on Archtops / Best books on nylon string

Matthew Springer
03-30-2016, 4:23 PM
Gang,
I'm thinking about taking the guitar building plunge. I've done a ton of woodwork and a lot of repair/setup work on electrics and acoustics, so I'm not a complete noob. That said, I'm a complete noob.

What I want to build is a nylon string archtop, likely using the "double top" nomex method since it's looking like no one actually builds these for sale at any price. Or at least not at a price that would not pay for all the tooling needed twice over. So the good news is I won't likely need to hand carve the arch curve except on the mold. I have access to a CNC router (but also a ton of hand tools).

What I don't have is the specific skill set or the experience. So I'm curious if folks can recommend some good archtop or nylon building books beyond the Benedetto book. I also have the Jonathan Natelson and William Cumpiano book and a couple more.

What I also have is a ton of patience. I usually go into these project assuming I'll mess up, so I'm OK learning on the first one.

Chris Fournier
04-03-2016, 12:39 PM
Those two books are pretty good for your intended project, there are plenty of vintage and very limited production books out there that offer a bit more in some details but they can be hard to track down and extremely expensive. I think that you are ready to go with what you've got! Okay, maybe try to pick up Irving Sloan's nylon string book...

I would suggest a solid body build as a sort of warm up to this project, your first effort will likely be a great guitar and it will help you envision aspects of your acoustic build that are more involved. I enjoy building both as they each offer their own unique rewards.

Stan Calow
04-04-2016, 9:36 PM
Matthew, if you haven't already checked it out, the Musical Instrument Makers Forum mimf.com is the place to go for help on this.