PDA

View Full Version : transtint vs transfast?

Allan Speers
03-25-2016, 7:14 PM
I've never used dyes before, just stains. With shellac I've always used various flake colors.

I want to start experimenting with dyes, both for mixing into platina shellac and also just general use (though apply in a shellac mixture is probably always how I'd do it.) So I was about to order, and got immediately stymied:

1: What is the effective difference between Transtint and Transfast? I realize one is a powder & hence less expensive, but if Transtint is premix, there must be a reason, yes?

Ive read that transfast doesn't lift if you brush-on a top coat, whereas Transtint can. OK, that makes the poweder more attractive to me (not to mention the lower cost) except most of the colors I want are only available in Transtint. Arrrrggghhhh ..........:mad:

Transfast powder is water soluable. Should I care? Can I NOT just mix it into my shellac? - Is that what TransTINT is for?

If the powder can be mixed in both water and shellac, then Is there any time you purposely mix in water? I can't see any advantage over clear shellac, plus water raises the grain.

I'm so confused.... :(

Last:

Prashun Patel
03-25-2016, 7:20 PM
transfast is water soluble and will not lift if you wipe on shellac over it. But you need to diliute it in water to apply it. It also won't lift if you top it with an oil based product or lacquer.

transtint is compatible with alcohol and water. So you can dilute it in either - or shellac. You can also dissolve it in varnish if you assist it with acetone.

I get lost about which one is less prone to fading, but have not had a problem with either.

Transtint has a limited selection, but honestly, for most projects, the variety is good enough.