PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone tried making their own carbide tiped tools?

Kenton Keller
03-24-2016, 8:06 PM
Complete newbie to turning, but have done some work on metal lathes. The carbide tools intrigue me but being a newbie the cost keep me from even considering them. But I was wondering if anyone has tried using say a cheap HF tool, grinding the end appropriately and drilling and tapping it to accept a carbide tip.

Also I see the wood working tips seem to get a premium. Has anyone tried tips for Metal?

James Combs
03-24-2016, 8:48 PM
Complete newbie to turning, but have done some work on metal lathes. The carbide tools intrigue me but being a newbie the cost keep me from even considering them. But I was wondering if anyone has tried using say a cheap HF tool, grinding the end appropriately and drilling and tapping it to accept a carbide tip.

Also I see the wood working tips seem to get a premium. Has anyone tried tips for Metal?
Welcome aboard the vortex Kenton. You will find a great group of turners here and all will be glade to help you with questions. As for "Has anyone tried making their own carbide tiped tools?", yes there are many DIYers here and I happen to be one of them. Here is one I made just over a year ago (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?225982-Another-Shop-Made-Carbide-Tool), use it pretty much every time I turn. I use it for both finishing and roughing. The bit has a radius cutting edge which makes it a great finishing scraper but since is is "almost" square it make an excellent roughing tool. You can get the construction details from the posting.

Keep us posted on how you are doing and we love pictures.

Brice Rogers
03-24-2016, 10:37 PM
About 2/3rds of my tools are home made. Some carbide, some high-carbon hard steel.

Convert HF handles and shanks to carbide? You bet - - it's very easy. For tapping, just don't buy the HF taps because they are (IMHO) very poor.