PDA

View Full Version : A Question for the Finishing Experts

David Tolsky
03-24-2016, 1:07 PM
Hello, I'm a newbie to finishing, and this is my first venture into this forum. I spend most of my time up in Woodworking and Power Tools, General.

I make specialty dovetail jointed boxes for camera assistants in the media field. They are made of hardwoods such as maple, oak, walnut, mahogany, ash, purpleheart, etc. I would like to put a nice sheen on the boxes, although they are used out in the field on location on a daily basis. They mount to a tripod under the camera. I sand to about 220 grit. I would like a gloss, but not so blinding that it would draw attention. What type of finish would you recommend? 334419

David Tolsky
03-24-2016, 2:48 PM
18 views and no answers? Have I said something wrong?

Prashun Patel
03-24-2016, 2:56 PM
I would recommend a wipe on polyurethane. It's going to be reasonably durable and will take some abrasion with relative grace.

You're planning to keep it out of the elements, right?

Robert Hazelwood
03-24-2016, 2:58 PM
Chill, it happens. Yours is a pretty broad question that could be answered with "just about anything".

I suggest you keep it simple for a field item. Wipe-on poly, semi-gloss. 3 to 5 coats. It's durable in use, easy to apply, and attractive.

David Tolsky
03-24-2016, 8:21 PM
Yes it will be kept out of the elements. So a typical Minwax poly found at Lowe's or HD would do the trick? Just curious, why not a Watco teak oil or Fornby's linseed oil or anything oil based?

Prashun Patel
03-24-2016, 9:18 PM
Mwax poly is oil based. That is, the minwax fast drying polyurethane or wipe on poly is oil based. But it forms a hard resin film.

the other products you mention contain actual non drying oil, so they dont build a thick film and dont offer as much protection as the filming poly.