PDA

View Full Version : Track saws; Festool vs. Grizzly

Steve Lindsey
03-23-2016, 6:51 PM
I'm just a hobby woodworker with 30+years experience. I wanted a track saw to break down sheet goods but didn't feel I could justify a Festool track saw. So I bought a Grizzly. Reading posts on various web sites I determined to modify the Grizzly as best I could. The Grizzly saw with track and clamps amounted to around $250 with shipping. I purchased a Freud saw blade for $50 and some "slick" tape to put on the track to stop the tipping that some had complained about. The results were very good. Cut quality on the "save" side was very good. Not as good on the waste side. Dust collection (Fein vacuum) was good but not perfect. Dust did come out in front of the cut line but not bad.

A year later I got a great deal on a Festool TS 55 and went about comparing the two. The Festool with the splinter guard did definitely cut better on the waste side but about the same on the "save" side. Dust collection was better, almost perfect. The power of both saw is adequate for 3/4 plywood, which is why I bought the first saw. I guess it's a question of how much money you have to spend. The Grizzly with the upgrades is good, just not as good as the Festool. However we are talking about a $300 difference.

glenn bradley
03-23-2016, 7:00 PM
Thanks for the comparison. Folks have done comparisons over the years and it is always good to have another input. Especially from someone who has both in their hands.

Ben Rivel
03-23-2016, 8:01 PM
Or one can go in the middle with the DeWalt or Makita too.

TIM CARBAUGH
03-23-2016, 9:54 PM