PDA

View Full Version : Band Saw motor replacement question - AC to DC?

Bob Schwartz
03-23-2016, 10:08 AM
New guy here... moving from lurking and learning to my first post!

I am very new to woodworking, and have recently acquired a 10" Rockwell 28-113 BS for a very low price. In addition to the 3/8 (dull) blade, it also came with a brand new Olson 1/2" blade. It's powered by a 1/3 HP motor. I've had a lot of fun learning on it, and of course am now wishing for a much larger BS.

A couple of weekends ago, at an estate sale, I picked up a few decent size osage orange logs. They are quite old/seasoned. Everything that I've read about resawing recommends having, in addition to a bigger BS, which, sadly, is not an option for me right now, at least a 1 HP motor to handle bigger/more dense wood.

I have a line on a 1 HP, 10amp/90 volt DC motor, for a reasonable price. I have read on various forums that DC motors and an electronic speed controller are great for converting a wood BS to a metal BS. I have zero interest in using my BS to cut metal, therefore reducing the speed is not an issue for me.

My question is simple... hopefully the answer is, too. Will I be able to simply swap the 1/3 HP AC motor with the 1 HP DC motor, or are there additional steps or equipment I would need to take care of, as well?

Any help/insight you all can provide is greatly appreciated!

Bill Space
03-23-2016, 11:21 AM
No, you cannot simply install a DC motor in place of an AC motor.

With a DC motor you need DC voltage. If you use the DC motor you will need a source of DC voltage to supply it with. You can make this happen but it will involve extra expense and require some knowledge of electrical/electronics, at minimum...

Bill

Bob Schwartz
03-23-2016, 11:53 AM
No, you cannot simply install a DC motor in place of an AC motor.