PDA

View Full Version : Totally new to engraving

Donato Marcantonio
09-15-2005, 4:50 AM
Hello, I am finally able to afford buying a used laser engraver. I have the chance to buy a Epilog Summit 25watt... for a fair price... at least I think, what would be a fair price for such a unit? The unit has been worked pretty hard in a production environment for years, and it's been unused for 2 years. The shop that's selling it has 13 laser cutters/engravers and 13 cnc routers. The laser is in working condition but they can't tell me how many hours are on the tube, they estimate between 5k to 10k. My guess is that the tube is probably passed the midpoint of its lifespan. I don't know the first thing about lasers and engraving... but I have always been interested. I am a IT tech, so I learn fast with tech equipement. Will it take long to learn how to use this? My main objective is to be able to cut balsa sheets up to 1/4 and ply up to 1/8 for r/c airplane models. I also own a small shop where I repair pcs, offer internet connectivity and printing and plotting services. In my hometown there is only one business with one engraver and he takes all the tags, small signs etc. laser jobs, I'd like to expand my business by offering those services as well...
Is this laser dependable and is it good like the newer units? I was also thinking about one of those Pinnacle M-series ones on ebay, they are more costly but noone seems to buy those, everybody prefers Epilog machines. Is it because they are made in the USA? or are they better in any respect?
oops too many questions, I know some of these questions might sound stupid, but I need to start somewhare in order to make an educated purchase. Thank you much in advance for any help that you might offer me.

Gary Shoemake
09-15-2005, 10:29 AM