PDA

View Full Version : lithopane lights

Jackie McGowan
09-14-2005, 9:22 PM
Hello all, I'm pretty new in the lasering bus. and have learned alot from the forum. Thank you all. I have not worked with acrylic at all yet but... I was wondering if anyone knows of an acrylic material that may be able to be 3d lasered (or just lasered) with a photo to have the effect of a lithopane when back lit. I have seen this on a website, they don't say that it's lasered they say "special process" but they are saying it's an acrylic material (as aposed to the real porcelain lithopanes). Even it there "process" Is not lasering, I wonder if lasering would work. It would have to be sort of an off white color material. Does anyone know anything about this or have any ideas on what material I might try?

Shaddy Dedmore
09-14-2005, 9:56 PM
I think I know what you're talking about. I've seen a guy use a CNC router to 3-d (as in, just a relief type 3-d, not a free standing object), and he used a sheet of corian. It was white clolored, and looked like crap, then you held it up to the window or light source and it looked amazing. Really impressive.

Acrylic is cheap, buy some cast acrylic and see what it does. It can't do what that router did, but you may like the results just the same. Someone around here has done some photos, then edge lit it (LED's in a little stand), and the pictures looked pretty good.

If you have a laser, it's only a matter of time before you use acrylic anyway. I've had good luck with Delvies Plastics. If you're etching, use the Cast for that frosty look.

Shaddy

Jackie McGowan
09-14-2005, 10:42 PM