PDA

View Full Version : 45 degree angles

Mike Trent
03-19-2016, 12:34 AM
Hello all,

This page could also have been titled "Yet Another Newbie's First Post"

I'll describe myself very briefly, ask my question, and then post my backstory for those who are interested. Here goes:

Me: I'm an intermediate novice. I know how basic use of shop tools, (and to respect and fear them like I would a firearm) but have never actually done any real woodworking beyond whittling-down a hot dog stick next to the camp fire, or helping my son assemble an acoustic guitar from a StewMac kit. Well, maybe a bit more, but not much.

Problem: I cant for the life of me cut four pieces of wood on a table saw, each of equal length, and each with a 45 degree angle at each end. Each and every time I think I've licked the problem, I fail. I lay the four pieces down, line them up, and there is ALWAYS a gap. I'm using a +/- 25-year old Delta 34-441 contractor's table saw. Have watched videos and read articles about saw adjustment, and have done the best I can with my limited skill and experience. FWIW I am practicing on pine 1x4s until I can get this step right.

Question: How do YOU all make your frames (or cut moulding, etc). Miter gauge? Sled? I'm about to give up on the Delta miter gauge (with fence and stop block I made), and make a sled. I've seen several sled plans on the internet -- do you have a favorite? I realize also I could spend $$ on an Incra miter or similar. Thanks for any wisdom you can share on how to make a simple frame. For crying out loud.

Tiny pic, rotated for some reason of the miter setup I've tried to use:

Backstory: After retiring from a 30 year Army career, Dad fulfilled a dream and built a real shop in our big back yard, then filled it with just about any power or hand tool a woodworker would want. Most Delta stuff, with a little Craftsman, DeWalt and Grizzly thrown in. My brother and I joked "there goes our inheritance!"