PDA

View Full Version : Hello all! New to wood working in IN....

Josh Ware
03-17-2016, 10:26 PM
First and foremost I wanted to introduce myself to all of the experienced members I've been secretly stalking for the last couple of weeks :)

I'm new to wood working, so far I've built some shelving and a work bench from 2x's in my garage (nothing I'd be proud enough to share here lol).

So I have a few basic power tools like a decent Dewalt circular saw, an old (older than me probably) B&D jigsaw, and Craftsman sander. As of now I'm looking to buy either a table or miter saw. I'm leaning toward the table saw as of now, a coworker is a fairly experienced wood worker and has suggested the table saw would be more versatile at the start. I've perused the local craigslist ads, eBay, even looked at a couple of pawn shops and just don't see anything that piques my interest. At the on set I was looking at Dewalt and Delta job site saws due to space limitations, but after some research I think I'm willing to cut my bench down to fit a contractor/hybrid saw in my garage. Right now I'm eye balling the Ridgid R4512, Craftsman 21833, and Delta 36-725. The Delta is top of my list right now, though admittedly it's the only one I've seen in person yet. I know that model is discontinued now for the 5000 series so I'm hoping to haggle Lowes down on their price since it's the floor model.

Moral of my long intro and blabbering story, what do you all suggest? I've read countless posts but none seem to be recent enough for the Delta to have any real opinions.

Keith Downing
03-17-2016, 10:44 PM
First and foremost I wanted to introduce myself to all of the experienced members I've been secretly stalking for the last couple of weeks :)

I'm new to wood working, so far I've built some shelving and a work bench from 2x's in my garage (nothing I'd be proud enough to share here lol).