PDA

View Full Version : tablesaw blade wear

Mike Ontko
03-16-2016, 9:31 PM
I've had my Forrest WWII through three projects now and am 3/4 of the way through my fourth. While I've switched over to a stacked dado I thought I'd take the opportunity to use the cleaning solution I got from Lee Valley. Looking at pitch deposits on the blade, however, I'm a little concerned at the pattern I'm seeing--radial spikes that seem to line up with the gullets of each tooth (see pics).

Is this a normal pattern for wear or pitch deposits, or do you think it indicates a problem with the saw arbor?

333944 333942

Andrew Hughes
03-16-2016, 10:03 PM
Looks like you were long over due for a blade cleaning.In surprised you were happy with the cut.I have a chopmaster 12 inch from Forrest.The tooling marks are familiar.I think it may be the way Forrest tunes the plates.
I hope I don't come across like your operations are lacking.I just clean my blades more often.

Mike Ontko
03-16-2016, 10:09 PM
Andrew, no offense taken whatsoever (though a little embarrassment maybe). The amount of pitch you're seeing on the blade now didn't really come up until the project I'm currently working on. There was some buildup from the ash and beech I'd worked with on my previous projects, but it didn't become this pronounced until after finishing with quite a few board feet of CVG Douglas fir. The last few cuts in the cherry I've been working with were, well...less then optimal as you've already ascertained.

Knowing a little better now, I'll be more regular with my inspection and cleaning cycles. I just wasn't sure if this was a normal pitch pattern or what.

Lee Schierer
03-16-2016, 10:25 PM
Have you checked your blade and fence alignment to your miter slot recently? It looks like you have been getting a lot of burning or at least smoke when you were cutting. Hopefully you weren't ripping with that blade. It really isn't made for ripping.

Chris Fournier
03-16-2016, 10:42 PM