PDA

View Full Version : Narrow workshop - Sawstop choice

Guy Dotan
03-15-2016, 8:42 AM
My shop is narrow: 9.5'W x 25'L (to be exact, out of the 25'L there is a 9' section that's 11.5'W.) I am in the process of buying a table saw and I am pretty much set on the 3HP PCS.
I would love to get help/opinions about whether to go with the 30" premium fence or the 36" t-glide fence. I know that the t-glide should be better, but being a newbie I am not sure I have enough space for the 36"

Overall dimensions of the sawstop:

30": 61 3/4″ w x 31 1/8″ d x 34″h
36":69 1/8″ w x 33″ d x 34″ h

Thanks!
Guy.

Robert Engel
03-15-2016, 9:11 AM
The key is going to be the distance from the blade to the wall. This will limit how long a board can be Xcut or how wide a sheet can be fed.

The narrow saw leaves just over 4 feet of space, and that's with the right side up against the wall.

based on that, I would guess you will have in 60" +/- of space between blade and wall.

I would go with 30" fence.

Raymond Seward
03-15-2016, 9:12 AM
If you go with the 36"....and put the extension against the wal you'll have approx 3' on the other end...that's enough room to walk around it. You could get the mobile base to move it if you are so inclined....but in the end how often would you use the extra 6"? That would be my determination...

Jebediah Eckert
03-15-2016, 9:59 AM
For the fence alone, go with the 36". The T Glide is far superior to the "Premium" fence. I think you will be bothered more by the inferior fence, then you will notice the extra 6".

if you end up deciding you will be moving the saw around the shop because of space, get the industrial base. That one works much better for making turns and maneuvering. The integrated base works fine for side to side but is less maneuverable making turns etc.

Mike Cutler
03-15-2016, 10:09 AM
Guy