PDA

View Full Version : Simple joint for front of blanket chest

Bob Denges
03-14-2016, 1:21 PM
Hi all! Finally getting around to making a blanket chest/toy box for the wife. I've planed down some curly maple boards I purchased at Woodcraft to 3/4". I plan to use raised panels on the sides and two drawers on the front (actually the bottom two will be functional and I'll glue on two false drawers above them). The look will be a four drawer cabinet but the lid will open for top acess. I have limited experience with dovetailing and I've thought of routing lock miter joints for the front vertical joints. Unfortunately I've messed around with these router bits and can't seem to get them right. My other thought using a rabett /miter bit set which may not be so fussy. First, what experience do you have with this bit set? Second, do you think the joint would be strong enough considering the additional glue surface? Finally, any other suggestions. BD

Jamie Buxton
03-14-2016, 2:03 PM
So the casework is basically frame-and-panel? That's what I'm getting when you say "four drawers". If the casework is frame and panel, the pieces of wood at the corners are going to have the grain direction running vertical. If so, I'd just butt-glue them. No joinery is needed. If you want, you can put biscuits or splines in, to help align things at glue-up, but they're not needed for strength.

lowell holmes
03-14-2016, 5:39 PM
I would have a sketch if I were doing the chest. If you need help with a sketch, pm me.

Bob Denges
03-14-2016, 5:59 PM
Thanks Lowell. Wintering in Florida now and starting to visualize this project. I have some time to lay it out (which I always do) but that front corner is my only sticking point. Since I don't want to dovetail I will probably miter them but am concerned about the strength of the miter. I guess I could always cut blocking and glue that behind the miter joint. I don't have Sketchup yet. BD

Randy Henry
03-14-2016, 6:03 PM