PDA

View Full Version : Finish for padauk

Jeffrey Cole
03-12-2016, 5:00 PM
I am ready to finish the outside my box. I used Padauk for the first time and I am wondering what a good finish would be for this wood. I like the natural look as opposed to glossy. Any help is very much appreciated.
Thank you for your time and knowledge!!
Jeffrey

John Blazy
03-12-2016, 10:36 PM
Padauk is so cool - smells like vanilla when cut. Bummer that it turns brown with age, so I would recommend some finish that has exterior weatherability additives like UV blockers to extend the "red" time. I am not experienced in finishing Padauk with UV blocking coatings, but I always assumed they would help (like marine spar varnishes), but you said you don't want glossy.

Maybe an exterior grade antique oil finish might be better than a simply linseed oil or Danish oil, but the color will definitely fade.

If you want the color to last, keep the box covered. Maybe use a marine varnish, then steel wool it to cut the gloss. Curious what others have to say.

Post some pics.

Jon Nuckles
03-14-2016, 11:11 PM
I have tried BLO on padauk and would NOT recommend it as a finish by itself. It turns the padauk a nice rich red color, but on a piece that I did not topcoat it continually develops a white efflorescence. It wipes off easily, but it keeps coming back. I did a french polish over BLO on another piece and it looked fantastic, but I gave the piece away so I don't know what the finish looks like now. Do post pics. I have a lot more padauk and would be interested to see what you come up with.

Jim Tobias
03-15-2016, 2:38 PM