PDA

View Full Version : Torsion box shelf above garage door

Cody Jensen
03-06-2016, 8:43 PM
Does anyone know how thick of skins and webs would be needed for an 96" x ~20"-24" deep shelf supported on only the ends? I don't have an exact weight, but lets say around 300 lbs distributed evenly over the width. I haven't used sagulator much before, but it seems a 1.5" thick plywood shelf is sufficient, so I would think 2-2 1/2" total thickness might work. I have never built one before, but I have seen quite a few build videos and images on here and other sites. The only thing I am not sure of, is does the "frame" of the webs (the boards on the perimeter) need to be thicker than the webs? Thanks.

David T gray
03-06-2016, 8:48 PM
why do u need it to be a torsion box seems like a lot of work for a shelf i would just take some plywood and attach some angle steel to it should be stronger that way and wayyyyyy less work.

Mike Henderson
03-06-2016, 9:21 PM
The strength of a torsion box is mostly in how thick it is (the depth of the webs). Torsion boxes are a form of an I-beam (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I-beam). Look up what makes an I-beam strong and you'll get a lot of good information on a torsion box.

The biggest disadvantage of skins that are too thin is that they bend between the webs when you put a big load on them. So the skin needs to be strong enough to support the load between the webs.

Mike

Alan Schaffter
03-07-2016, 12:56 AM
Are you thinking about building something like this?

This 8' X 18" X 3" torsion box was built as an example of a lightweight torsion box for a two-part article I wrote about my adjustable height, torsion box, assembly table. It was published in American Woodworker several years ago. The skins and longitudinal web pieces were made with 1/8" tempered hardboard. The lateral web pieces were made with 3/16" pegboard (I ran out of hardboard.)