PDA

View Full Version : Can you hand tool woodworkers do everything that a powered tool woodworker can do?

Brian Sommers
03-02-2016, 1:57 PM
I'm a newbie woodworker. I have power tools. I've been watching lots of youtube videos on hand tools and I have to say there is a certain "zen" factor - whatever that is, I'm not sure, but I find it very appealing.

I was thinking everything I do with my power tools and then think how I could every live without them.

The thing that comes to mind is a router and router table.

How do hand tool woodworkers do fancy edge work for say a nice art frame?

Mike Henderson
03-02-2016, 2:07 PM
Sure. They made special (usually wooden) planes for those profiles. You might have to use more than one plane to cut the profile but you can do some very elaborate profiles with hand planes.

Mike

Zach Dillinger
03-02-2016, 2:18 PM
I'm a newbie woodworker. I have power tools. I've been watching lots of youtube videos on hand tools and I have to say there is a certain "zen" factor - whatever that is, I'm not sure, but I find it very appealing.

I was thinking everything I do with my power tools and then think how I could every live without them.

I think a better question is can power tool woodworkers do everything a hand tool woodworker can do? Consider the fact that this was made nearly 400 years ago, and I can guarantee no electrons were sacrificed in this project... :)

Chris Hachet
03-02-2016, 2:21 PM
I actually find it better to work with hand tools...I do not have a joiner, planer, radial arm saw, et al taking up room or making loads of sawdust in my shop. I do use power tools, but try to limit them.

FWIW you may want to use lower impact powered tools (hollow chisel morticer, battery drill, band saw, et al) and avoid tools that make dons of noise and dust (table saw, routers, chop saww, etc,).