PDA

View Full Version : Questions on using a wet grinder

Frederick Skelly
03-01-2016, 7:52 PM
Hi folks,
I got a good price on a Triton wet grinder and bought it. It's yet another Tormek look alike. I've never used one before and there's a bit more to it than I realized. Unfortunately, on those points, the manual is at it's weakest and none of my 3 excellent sharpening books answers them either. Could you please give me a hand if you know the answers here?

1. I need some good instructions on how to balance and dress the wheel. Can you recommend a book or youtube video? This thing comes with a long stone that looks like carborundum to dress it. Using it to try and get the top flat and parallel to the tool rest/bar has been sporty/fun and I don't have it quite right, yet. Hence my question.

2. This grinder lets me sharpen in either direction - with the rotation or against it. Instructions only say that either way is ok for grinding. They don't say which direction I should use when reprofiling a plane iron's bevel. (They do say to only "hone" with the rotat́on.) Can anyone give me the pros and cons of grinding (not honing) in one direction vs the other? For example, grinding against the rotation seems to remove material faster - is it safe?

3. The wheel can be dressed to 220 grit, but nothing more aggressive. I looked for new 10" x2" wheels in a lower grit (like 150) online but didn't find any. Do such things exist?

Thanks for your help!
Fred

Tom Ewell
03-02-2016, 12:34 AM
On the Tormek,

A diamond dressing jig that rides the guide rail trues up the stone, take off just enough off the wheel to clean it up.

The wheel should be balanced as shipped, a tad of apparent rotational 'wobble' at the slow speeds of the machine is OK as long as the surface of the wheel is true relative to the guide rails.

Side of wheel can be used to polish the flats before working on the bevels using the jigs, do not dig into the sides of the wheel.