PDA

View Full Version : Complete Newbie questions...

Brian Lamb
03-01-2016, 6:19 PM
Little history, used to own a machine shop and purchased a ULS laser back in the early 90's for part marking and rubber stamp making. Shut the business down in 95 or so and fast forward to now, we make our own product (accessories and tooling for woodworking and specific woodworking machines) and have been sending out our laser marking. Made sense to find another machine and bring it in house and also pursue laser work in general.

Found a Universal Laser X-600 in good shape and have been getting it set up and ready to go. Not having much trouble with wood plaques and such using Corel Draw, but today I wanted to try cutting out some acrylic pointers we use in our parallel fences. I drew up the shape of the pointer, then two mounting holes I want to pierce thru, and then a line I want to engrave a few thousandth deep and fill with red paint a standard "hairline pointer" type of part. I'm used to using Alibre CAD software for designing and drawing parts, so Corel was a bit of a slow go, but I figured it out and once I had the part was able to use duplicate and get a whole bunch of parts on a 24" x 8" wide chunk of acrylic.

A few questions, sent the file to the ULS and put a piece of cardboard in to test and it appears I get the top line and arcs of each rectangle, then the bottom line and arcs, then the vertical sides, and it doesn't do the holes or the engraved line. I also don't seem to be getting any laser cutting at all, just the motions. Is there also a way that you set the order of cuts? Like I want to engrave, then the two holes, then the outside profile?

I'm going to try to attach my corel file and maybe somebody could take a look and see if they see what I have done wrong, many thanks! I'm sure we will have a lot of questions as we move forward with this new machine, glad we found this forum.

Brian Lamb

Mark Sipes
03-01-2016, 6:24 PM