PDA

View Full Version : Rough Lumber Stability Question 8/4 stock

Lincoln Myers
06-11-2003, 7:21 PM
I am starting a project, a trundle bed, using rough 8/4 poplar and 4/4 maple stock. This is my first project using rough lumber. I had one edge straight-line-ripped at the hardwood supplier.

My question is what is the preferred/ideal/best way to work this lumber in terms of letting it acclimate to its' ultimate destination (my son's bedroom)?

Do I cut it to approx. length, then sticker it in the house for x period of time? Or should I joint and plane it also before putting it inside for x period of time? How long before final milling? Or some other order of operations?

Any suggestions and tips are greatly appreciated.

Jim Becker
06-11-2003, 8:10 PM
What's most important is to let the material acclimate to your shop before you start milling and building. Once you transfer the finished project to the bedroom, it will acclimate to that environment as a unit. I really do recommend that you invest in a moisture meter if you don't already have one to help you check stock in the shop and as you are buying it, too. It helps you better judge the status of MC for a project's material.

Tony Pearson
06-11-2003, 9:10 PM
Since you have indicated that you acquired the wood from a hardwood dealer, I assume that the wood has been kiln dried. If so, I would allow the entire batch to acclimate in the shop for period of time, say a couple of months. Then mill the material, make the product and move it into it's new environment.

BTW I'm not indicating that the above represents the correct way, it is simply the method I use in Florida which is a very humid climate. I've not experienced any difficulties with significant wood movement.

Good luck!

Tony:D

Tom Gattiker
06-12-2003, 8:44 AM