PDA

View Full Version : Need new 23 gauge nailer, What brand/model ?

Scott Austin
02-28-2016, 1:00 PM
I am a finish carpenter that uses a 23 gauge pin nailer quite a bit. I am really frustrated with my senco ( i belive it's a finishpro10 ). It frequently jambs and I don't care for the slide magazine.

What brand have or are you guy's using. Grex & Cadex seem to be the upper brands. Anybody have Senco finishpro23sxp ?

I don't need a 2'' Gun , as I would prefer a smaller one to get into tighter spots.

Mike Henderson
02-28-2016, 1:02 PM
I have the Grex. Good but expensive.

Mike

Bill McNiel
02-28-2016, 1:26 PM
Echo - Mike, Grex, solid performance is what you pay for.

glenn bradley
02-28-2016, 1:38 PM
+3. If I were a pro, I wold get a Grex.

Bruce Page
02-28-2016, 1:45 PM
+4, very happy with the Grex.

Ken Fitzgerald
02-28-2016, 2:20 PM
If I was a pro Grex. I bought and am happy with my Hitachi NP-35A.

John Grace
02-28-2016, 2:50 PM
Yikes...I just looked at the Grex on Amazon. Must be an awesome nailer for that kind of money. Is the value simply in that the Grex lasts/hold's-up much longer or does it have other characteristics that I'm missing?

Joe Adams
02-28-2016, 2:55 PM
I use them professionally and have the 1-3/8" Grex and 2" Cadex and like them both equally. The reason I bought the Cadex was for the extra holding power of the slight head when using longer pins to attach crown molding to cabinets. I still use the Grex quite a bit.

I have a bunch of Bostitch guns and originally bought their 1-3/16" pinner. It's a great value for the money. No problems at all during several years of use.

Some folks have complained it doesn't fully set pins but a slight sanding of the nose will fix that problem. Like I said, mine has been trouble free.

One word of warning - Most if not all pinners lack the contact safety found on other nail guns. It's very easy to accidentally shoot a pin across the room or through your off hand. Don't ask me how I know this.

Andrew Hughes