PDA

View Full Version : what is it worth

wyman autry
09-12-2005, 10:35 PM
this is my first time so please be gentle with me, i've read many post here and seen some outstanding turnings,and being new at turning, i have a lot of questions, but what may sound kinda dumb is how do you determine what is a good price for a bowl, ect, and what is an average price if there is such a thing as an average price.

Cecil Arnold
09-13-2005, 12:04 AM
Wyman, 9 months without jumping in is too long but welcome to the creek. There are a number of pricing schemes people use and a lot of things you need to keep in mind when pricing. All turners like the idea of free wood and we all use it whenever we can, however to "give" away what was free wood is not the thing to do. I guess what I'm saying is that you need to consider the bf you would need to produce the turning as a starting point, then the time spent, some overhead for your lathe and turning tools, plus a little profit. Some people use a forumlia of height x width x $ = sales price, one friend who turns lamps charges $10 per inch of height (mesquete) and others, as their skills improve and they find an "audience" can increase prices to a nice level. To further complicate matters segmented bowl turners will always have to charge more for the same size bowls due to the added work involved in design and glue up. So in terms of some not so sage advice, charge somewhere between a fair price and all the traffic can bare.

Jeff Sudmeier
09-13-2005, 8:42 AM
Wyman, thanks for posting!! I hope that you will post more often than once in nine months :) :) :) We really enjoy hearing from the new members, it keeps the forum fresh!!

As far as pricing goes, I can't help much, I don't sell my stuff very often.

Ken Fitzgerald
09-13-2005, 8:45 AM
Wyman.....Welcome to the Creek! I'm sure some of the turners here can help you with you questions! I don't do spinny things....yet......Again Welcome!

Ed Lang
09-13-2005, 10:13 AM