PDA

View Full Version : Adding to the list of Things....

Steve Russell tucker
02-22-2016, 5:09 PM
Well I have been busy in the "vortex" lately This332268332269 332270was 6 walnut boards I stacked on top of each other and turned down,then rubbed a couple coats of high gloss Tung oil on .I'm happy enough with the outside but not so much with the inside I've decided I'm not very good with the rounded carbide tool so I ordered a 3/8 bowl gouge and I'm gonna try that and see how it does .Again thank you all so very much for all your tips and advice It has been a pleasure learning new things from all of you.
Thank you all,
S.

Allan Ferguson
02-22-2016, 7:55 PM
Looking at the item turned, I do not think a bowl gouge would be appropriate for working the inside. Glue up a 2" thick disk and make a shallow bowl with your bowl gouge when it arrives. Get some mentoring, might save an injury.

Thom Sturgill
02-22-2016, 7:57 PM
For finishing deep straight sided vessels I prefer a box scraper shaped along the lines of Jimmy Clewes' version. 3/4" or wider heavy scraper. Grind the left edge back at an angle and then grind the end 90 or slightly less to that face. Leave about 1/8" and grind the rest of the end back in a radius.

The straight side can be used to scrape the inside wall and remove ridges. The corner lets you cut into the inner corner to produce a sharp corner while the swept back part helps prevent catches.

Steve Russell tucker
02-22-2016, 11:09 PM
That is a great idea sirs! thank you i will try that asap!

Aaron Craven
02-23-2016, 8:38 AM