PDA

View Full Version : Leather question for a Thos. Moser style desk

Jason Tuinstra
09-12-2005, 2:30 PM
The next project that I have planned is a Thos. Moser style desk as shown below. I plan on building it with the leather panels, but I've never done anything like this before and am just wondering what your thoughts are. I don't figure it should be too hard. I plan on just building some mdf panels, and using some adhesive (yet to be researched) to attatch them. But I don't know how much strentching is involved. Again, I'm in the dark on this one.

Beside that, I'm looking forwad to the project. I plan on building a hidden cord compartment and secret drawers. Big plans, we'll see how it pans out.

Thanks!

jerry cousins
09-12-2005, 2:39 PM
i did an office desk with a large centered leather panel. just make sure your substrate is perfectly clean - any little bit of material will translate through the leather. i found the corners to be the most difficult - trying to not have it bunch up and thereby causing a need for greater clearance than the running edges. once i had it glued it was a pretty tight fit - i used single edge raxor blades as "wedges" around the edge as i tapped the panel in place.

best of luck - nice project.

jerry

Dan Stuewe
09-12-2005, 2:40 PM
Jason,

I'm not going to be able to help you on your question, I just wanted to say I am looking forward to seeing your results. My wife and I happened upon his "new" showroom in Boston last year and signed up for his cataloge. I've really enjoyed seeing his (and his son's) designs. I'm not quite sure which will come first...me being able to make something like they build, or me being able to afford to buy something from them!

Anyway, good luck with this project!

BTW, how do you pronouce "Thos."?

Don Baer
09-12-2005, 2:40 PM
Jason,
Since leather craft is one of my other hobbies maybe I can be of some help on this one.