PDA

View Full Version : CBN wheel grinding motor

Lasse Hilbrandt
02-10-2016, 4:40 PM
I find that a new Tormek is too expensive, so I bought a copy made by Sheppach. I returned it as soon I unpacked it because i found it to be of too low quality.

Now im thinking of just fitting a CBN wheel to an electric motor, but most of them I find for sale has 1450 revolutions pr. minut. Is that too fast ?
Should I try to fit a frequensy converter or one with a gearbox ?

What is the best speed for CBN wheel ?

Tom M King
02-10-2016, 5:04 PM
The tool stays on them such a short time, that I doubt it matters a lot. I couldn't find a slow speed one that would run smooth enough for me, so I got a regular speed one and tried that. I would have sent it back too if it didn't work. I've been using it for a couple of years, and haven't blued an edge corner yet at 3400 rpm, or whatever the exact speed is around that. I ordered two slow speed, cheap ones, tried them, and sent them back. I ended up with one that wasn't so inexpensive, but really smooth.

Lasse Hilbrandt
02-10-2016, 5:08 PM
So you are using a motor that runs 3400 rpm ? Then I shouldnt worry about 1450 rpm then. When you say smooth, do you mean with les vibration ?

How much KW is sufficient ?

Tom M King
02-10-2016, 6:19 PM
331418This is what I mean by smooth. I've posted this a number of times, so a lot of members are probably tired of seeing it, but it's stored here, so easy to get to. Not only are those things sitting on it while it's running, but after I kept putting stuff on it, I decided to go to the truck and get the camera. The pieces were still there when I came back with the camera, and took this picture. Notice that I hadn't even tightened down the nuts holding it on the plywood base yet. Yeah, I don't think speed makes a whole lot of difference, unless maybe you are heavy handed.

David Eisenhauer
02-10-2016, 6:52 PM