PDA

View Full Version : Coreldraw to Lasercut 5.3 issues

John T Bates
01-27-2016, 12:44 PM
Hey all, new to the forums.

I've got a project I'm working on, and it's really fairly simple. But, I'm new to lasercut 5.3 and I'm having, I guess, translation issues between coreldraw and lasercut. I have an image, it's black and white, I want the black engraved and the white left alone. When I save the image as a .dxf and import it into lasercut, it comes out as a line drawing, which actually looks ok, but when it engraves, it's not engraving what's on the screen. Can anyone give me any advice on how to get lasercut to simply engrave what I created in corel?

Here are some images of my project.
This is the coreldraw image.

This is what lasercut imports.

This is the final product from the laser. I want the detail that's on tire and I don't want the text filled in on the "O" and "A".

I used to have a FSL hobby laser, and upgraded to a rabbit last year. I have no issues cutting, but engraving is starting to give me fits :)

Thanks for any help

John

Bill Carruthers
01-27-2016, 2:52 PM
John - it's kind of hard to explain especially as I'm the world's worst typist- but you have to ensure that the different segments of the dxf file are set to be "scanned" and not cut - try selecting (by boxing) the whole image and then apply a "scan" color layer to it. Or also save it as a bmp or jpg in coreldraw and then import it into Lasercut as such.

Julian Ashcroft
01-27-2016, 3:01 PM
That often happens if the various shapes aren't actually 'closed'.

Bill George
01-27-2016, 3:15 PM
That often happens if the various shapes aren't actually 'closed'.

For raster or engraving they don't need to be "closed", vectors will need to be on most machines.

Rich Harman
01-27-2016, 3:16 PM
Simplest way is to convert the dxf to a bmp in Corel.

Better way is to make sure all the shapes are closed. The "Smart Fill" tool works wonders for this sort of thing.

Rich Harman
01-27-2016, 3:19 PM