PDA

View Full Version : IWF Atlanta (August 24-27)

Dan Schmidt
01-26-2016, 10:20 AM
I haven't been to any of the big woodworking shows, but I moved to GA last year and am thinking about attending IWF in Atlanta in August. http://www.iwfatlanta.com/

I'm a serious hobbyist - not employed in this industry. I would appreciate some feedback from those of you who attended last year.

Is IWF truly one of the best / largest shows?
Would I see all of the major manufactures? Looking at the exhibitors, I don't even see Delta or Powermatic. Maybe they just haven't registered yet???
Demos / lessons available?
Would this be a 1/2 day event to see it all, a full day, or multiple days?

Thinking about flying my father in law down with intent of a fun event. Think we'd be disappointed? Any other comments you'd have would be welcome....
Let me know if there is a better show than this...

Dan

Erik Loza
01-26-2016, 10:44 AM
Do you mean "IWF"?...

My responses, in blue....

Erik

I haven't been to any of the big woodworking shows, but I moved to GA last year and am thinking about attending IWS in Atlanta in August. http://www.iwfatlanta.com/

I'm a serious hobbyist - not employed in this industry. I would appreciate some feedback from those of you who attended last year.

Is IWS truly one of the best / largest shows? Yes
Would I see all of the major manufactures? Looking at the exhibitors, I don't even see Delta or Powermatic. Maybe they just haven't registered yet??? If not all, then 90%. The other 10% you could see at your local Woodcraft or Rockler and will be the mass-produced Chaiwanese stuff. The thing about IWF and AWFS is that you get to see the top of the food chain for each market, which you won't be able to to at your average regional hobby show.
Demos / lessons available? Possibly for non-motorized hand tools but all the seminars are geared toward the industry. The vast majority of actual demos you see will be on advanced machinery like CNC's, not on classical machinery.