PDA

View Full Version : Thank you all

Steve Russell tucker
01-24-2016, 6:48 AM
So i am really new to wood working and a newborn when it comes to lathes . I just got a craftsman 12 inch wood lathe and the only thing missing was the Drive center/spur center ? (sorry not sure if i have that right) anyway its a #1 Morse taper with a 3/4 16tpi spindle ,my question finally , is what should i do first? i see people talking about chucks,spindle turning, bowl making, and frankly its over whelming i really want to like this lathe! I have no tools to cut any thing with or a chuck or anything I've ordered just 1 drive spur thing that i can afford but I'm looking for maybe a list of tools I should try for or maybe some easy things i can do to get a feel for the lathe. and you all have been so very helpful every time i ask one of these dumb questions, thank you so very much for welcoming me with kindness I appreciate it very much !

Allan Ferguson
01-24-2016, 10:09 AM
1. Start looking for a turning club. 2. search out a mentor. 3. DVD when all else fails. 4. Include a location on the site. The person your looking for may be near by and unknown to you.

Jim Daughtridge
01-24-2016, 10:21 AM
'YouTube' can be helpful and enjoyable.

William C Rogers
01-24-2016, 10:21 AM