PDA

View Full Version : radial arm saw (comparision)

jeff oldham
01-23-2016, 10:09 AM
well I have posted on here about a craftsman radial arm saw about making adjustments,,,and after trying everything to get it square ,,which I have had no luck,,i was told that I shouldn't compare all radial arm saws with the craftsman and was told to get either a dewalt or delta Rockwell,,and I have found both,,,the dewalt is model number 790 and at this moment I don't know the model of the Rockwell but it has the swivel turrent in the middle of the arm,,im not a pro by no means but if you have one of these saws could you give me some input on which do you think would be the better saw,,not only user friendly but in making adjustments,,and both are 12 inch where the craftsman was just 10,,all input would be greatly appreciated,,thank you

David Eisenhauer
01-23-2016, 10:54 AM
I have owned a (bought new 1981) Dewalt 77 something or other 10" RA saw and have had no real issues with it. It came with an instruction manual that walks the user through the various adjustments to put and keep the saw in square. The first many years I owned it, I used it for all cuts, but have not used it for angle or bevel cuts in many years now. It is way better to use a blade with negative hook to help prevent "climb cutting" and an accidental "climb cut" is probably the most likely cause of the saw getting out of adjustment. By now, I have tons of experience with the saw and have not had to adjust it for square in a few years. It is kind of like my Unifence - I don't remember to check for square all that often because it stays in adjustment. The cutting head rollers and roller-track in the DeWalt required cleaning a few times over the years (especially after using it extensively for cutting framing lumber over an extended period), but the manual describes a fairly easy (no disassembly required) process for that.

David Eisenhauer
01-23-2016, 10:56 AM